British Kings - (1815 - 1948)
The Monarchy of Ceylon (the Ceylonese monarchy) was the system of government in which a hereditary monarch was the sovereign of British Ceylon (18151948) and then the Dominion of Ceylon (now Sri Lanka) from 1948 to 1971. Ceylon shared the Sovereign with the other Commonwealth realms. The monarch's constitutional roles were mostly delegated to the Governor-General of Ceylon. The Royal succession was governed by the English Act of Settlement of 1701. The monarchy was abolished in 22 May 1972, when Ceylon became a republic within the Commonwealth, and its name was changed to Sri Lanka.
British Kings - (1815 - 1948)

Digital Identity of Sri Lankan History -
All rights reserved - 2019
Powered by isandi CREATIONS