The Governor-General of Ceylon was the representative of the Ceylonese monarch, and head of state, who held the title of Queen/King of Ceylon (as of 1952, Queen Elizabeth II) from 1948 when the country became independent as a Dominion until the country became the republic of Sri Lanka in 1972.
Governors-General - (1948 - 1972)
1. Henry Monck-Mason Moore1948 - 1949
2. Herwald Ramsbotham1949 - 1952
3. Justice Arthur Wijewardena1952 - 1953
4. Herwald Ramsbotham1953 - 1954
5. Justice C. Nagalingam1954 - 1954
6. Herwald Ramsbotham1954 - 1954
7. Sir Oliver Ernest Goonetilleke1954 - 1962
8. William Gopallawa1962 - 1972
Monarch of Ceylon - (1948 - 1972)

The constitution created a parliamentary democracy with a bicameral legislature consisting of a Senate and a House of Representatives[3], with the popularly-elected House indirectly naming the Senate[7]. The head of state was the governor general, a representative of the Ceylonese monarch and a predominantly ceremonial figure. The head of government was the prime minister, and he and his cabinet consisted of the largest political party in the legislature. Initially, the prominent party was the UNP, the United National Party. In the first parliamentary elections, the UNP gained 42 out of the 95 seats available, and also won the elections in 1952. When the first prime minister, D. S. Senanayake, was died of a stork, his son Dudley was appointed as prime minister. This kind of "hereditary" succession was one of the problems with the new government. In 1956, the radical socialist SLFP (Sri Lanka Freedom Party) won the elections, and Solomon Bandaranaike took power. The leftist SLFP established Sinhalese rather than English as the official language and the language used in schools and universities under the Sinhala Only Bill. This caused Tamil riots, as they spoke a different language. These riots culminated in the assassination of the prime minister, Bandaraike. His widow, සිරිමාවෝ, succeeded her husband as leader of the SLFP and was elected as the world's first female prime minister. She held office until 1977, with two exceptions in 1960 and 1965-1970, when the UNP held power. During her rule, she implemented a radical economic program of nationalization and land reform, a pro-Sinhalese educational and employment policy, and an independent foreign policy as part of the non-aligned movement